Caravan Almost Done

As you can see we’ve got our new website up and running, it’s still not 100% right, but I think we have more ability to customise and change things on here than we had previously. I still don’t know if the facebook images will work when I share it, but I know it is possible on the wordpress platform.

The caravan is all but ready to go.

All that’s left is getting lights on the back for the trip down, they arrived yesterday and I’ll be wiring them up over the next 2 days.

On the, it’s would be nice list is still getting the fridge to work on gas, but I’m not sure I have the skills to work it out so we may have to go without.

The next job will be arranging a power system that can run from the Patrol to give us lights while we’re out there. The 240v system in the van seems to be working without any issues, so I’m leaning towards running an inverter from the patrol batteries to run the van. I’m also toying with the possibility of being able to run the hot water heater from the car in which case we would have hot water. That would be a major bonus. I’m waiting to hear back from an expert before I get to far ahead of myself with that though.

I’ve started my first experiment with the olive barrels, but I’m expecting that by the time I get home tonight the barrel will be empty meaning we get about 4 days to the barrel compared to the 20-25 that I’m hoping for.

I’ve got some more ideas to try so I’m not to worried about it yet.

Last week I had a great score that I posted about on our facebook page, that was that I found someone with excess Illawarra Plums. I got a pot of them which turned out to be enough for me to have a good feed as well as 2 very small jars for later. The Jam turned out a little bit thin, but it is delicious. The main reason I was after the plums were for the seeds, so now I have 80 Illawarra plum seeds planted and waiting to grow. I also had a friend of a friend who was clearing Banana trees so I grabbed few and put them in the backyard so that I can collect pups for the block.

Our next planned trip will be next weekend over mothers day, I’ll be taking a few extra family members down with me as well as the van so it will be a big weekend I think.

4 thoughts on “Caravan Almost Done

  1. Nicole April 29, 2016 / 8:32 am

    Hey kev.. all sounds great! Chris suggested maybe changing the lights to LED in the caravan just so it wouldn’t use so much battery. Also just wantes to see if the comments would work on this site 🙂
    See you next weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • quinsgunnado April 29, 2016 / 9:43 am

      We probably will change everything out to draw less power, but for now we’re planning on just getting it all going, lol.

      Like

  2. Michael Jordan April 29, 2016 / 1:27 pm

    The inverter is a great idea, it’ll also be handy for other things like portable power around the property if needed. I’d be looking at adding a third battery if possible if you’ve already got the dual battery set up. In my experience 1 was never quite enough and would have to have the ute running more
    Mind you i was running a laptop, drills and the occasional jack hammer off a 2000w inverter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • quinsgunnado May 2, 2016 / 6:11 am

      We do have the 2 batteries at the moment, I’m not sure if there is space for a third. But if we have issues it might be worth trying out. At the very least Ik now we can fit bigger/better batteries than we currently have.

      Did you ever come close to maxing out your inverter? ~2400w is what we’ll need to run an electric hot water heater, but I’m not sure if I’ll end up killing the batteries even with the car running.
      That is the main thing I’m waiting to here back on from the guy I’ve contacted.

      Like

Leave a Reply

